October 03, 2017

USDA: Area Parishes Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Ten parishes are eligible for disaster assistance as a result of extreme and continuous rainfall in 2017 according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), said Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M. The parishes, which are contiguous to primary natural disaster areas in Mississippi include: Concordia, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Madison, St. Helena, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Washington and West Feliciana.
“The USDA determined there was significant crop loss from excessive rainfall and flooding that occurred starting in April,” said Strain. Strain said farmers located in these parishes are eligible for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the disaster declaration date to apply for emergency loans to help cover losses.
The parishes listed were designated natural disaster areas on September 29, 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment